In Michigan it's illegal to drive without Insurance. You are required by law to carry at least "PLPD" Personal Liability and Property Damage. The minimum amount of Michigan auto insurance coverage is $50,000/$100,000/$10,000. In the event of a covered accident, your limits for bodily injury are $50,000 per person, with a total maximum of $100,000 per incident. It also covers up to $10,000 for damage to another person's property. However, we recommend that you opt in for higher coverages to fully protect yourself. This difference in premium are are usually not that big.
The State of Michigan is a No-Fault State which means that if If you have an auto accident, no-fault insurance pays for your medical expenses, wage loss benefits, replacement services, and the damage you do to other people's property. It does not matter who caused the accident. Your basic no-fault insurance does NOT pay for repairs to your car.